Minutian are a progressively inclined rock / metal group based in Helsinki, Finland. The band aspires to bring something fresh to the world of traditional rock rhythms. Their influences are drawn from various directions, with some of the more prominent ones from bands like King Crimson, Tool, Mastodon and Oceansize, to name but a few.

The music of Minutian is quite rhythmically oriented and odd time signatures are not frowned upon. The band originates from a three song demo by drummer Antti Ruokola with which he started looking for like-minded musicians. With the forming of the band's lineup the music too found its distinctive form.

Minutian's debut album Repercussions was released in May 2011. Positive album reviews and various gigs in Finland have provided a promising start in gaining recognition among followers of local bands.

Tragically, in February 2012, the band lost guitarist and dear friend Jaakko Jernberg. The shocking news of Jaakko's accidental death forced the band to question their motivation to continue. After serious consideration, the remaining members of the band decided the best way to cope with the tragedy would be to continue making music together.

Minutian started working on new songs and playing live shows again with a few close friends of the band filling in as guitarist. In September 2013, touring guitarist Pekka Loponen joined Minutian's lineup as a full-time member.

After lengthy recuperation, songwriting and recording processes, the band finished working on their sophomore album Inwards in December 2014. The album is set for release in January 2015 via Secret Entertainment.

We're looking forward to getting back on the road playing new Minutian songs!


  • Antti Ruokola, drums
  • Mikko Heino, vocals
  • Jouni Mikkola, bass
  • Jesper Johnson, guitar
  • Pekka Loponen, guitar


  • Jaakko Jernberg, guitar (R.I.P.) 2009-2012
  • Teemu Kokkonen, touring guitarist (2012)
2014 © Samppa Fjäder

Jouni, Antti, Pekka, Mikko, Jesper
2014 © Minutian

2012 © Ari Keinänen

Antti, Mikko, Jouni, Jaakko, Jesper
2011 © Pekka Loponen